Jackson football senior Seth Waters poses with Jackson assistant coach Derek Sievers after receiving his framed No. 22 jersey. The rest of the Indians 14 seniors also received a framed jersey. Photo by Nick McNeal
Print This Story
High School Football: Jackson holds annual end of the year banquet

by Nick McNeal ~ Sports Editor

After finishing second place in Class 5 this fall, the Jackson football team held its annual end of the year banquet last Tuesday night to remember the season.

The Indians had several players garner postseason honors as eight were named all-state, 17 all-district and 18 all-conference.

Two of Jackson’s 15 seniors picked up all three honors in running back Seth Waters and defensive lineman Cole Amelunke, who were named second team all-state.

Five other Indians named all-state this season were juniors quarterback Cael Welker, tight end Rhet Liley, offensive lineman Connor Tollison, inside linebacker Bryce Norman and outside linebacker Randol McDowell, while sophomore offensive lineman Ashton Flinn was the lone underclassmen.

Each player was named all-district and all-conference, while Welker was named the SEMO North Offensive Player of the Year, Tollison the North’s Offensive Lineman of the Year and finally Norman was the North’s Defensive Player of the Year.

Jackson also had three players named academic all-state, which were seniors safety Caleb Craft and inside linebacker Braiden Wagganer along with Liley.

Other seniors who earned postseason honors include cornerback Markiese Jones, offensive lineman Nathan Harrison, defensive lineman Bret Meyer, inside linebacker Riley Pike and wide receiver Dalton Skrob. All except for Skrob were named both all-district and all-conference, while Skrob garnered all-conference.

With an overall record of 13-1, Jackson outscored opponents 634-146 as the offense averaged 45.3 points per game as the defense allowed 10.4.

The Cash-Book Journal       P.O.Box 369       210 W. Main        Jackson, MO 63755       Phone: 573-243-3515       Fax: 573-243-3517