Mikala Liley (shown with Art Department Head Andrea Talley) was recognized four times during the award ceremony. Photo by Jay Forness
Print This Story
JHS recognizes academic achievements

by Jay Forness ~ Assistant Editor

Jackson High School celebrated the academic achievements of students at an awards ceremony on Wednesday, May 1, in the high school auditorium. Several athletic awards were also presented.

Laura Bertrand, Sean Cheney, Emily Hawkins, Emily Hermann, Mikala Liley, Chase Robinson, Emily Scott, Tyler Webb, Madalyn Weber and Hannah Wilson were named scholar athletes. Each of these students had a GPA between 11.38 and 11.72 on a 12.0 scale.

The 2019 Tribal Council Athlete of the Year awards were also announced. These awards are voted on by the varsity head coaches at JHS. Mikala Liley was named the Female Athlete of the Year, and Jack Rinehart and Colten Seyer tied for the Male Athlete of the Year award.

For the physical education department, Kiera Borgfield and Dalton Tallison received the female and male physical education awards.

For the business department, three awards were presented. Caitlyn Allen received the computer award, Kaitlin Bruns received the business finance award and Lance Kluesner received the business award.

Emma Reinecke won the family and consumer sciences award. The agricultural science department gave the greenhouse award to Braxton Green and the Ag. mechanics award to Dustin Aden.

Noah Sparks and Tyler Webb both won the mathematics department’s AP calculus award. Leslie McGuire, Mikala Liley and Liza Schell received the three art department awards.

Parker Fisher and Carley Bilek received the choral department’s outstanding male and female vocalist awards. Sarah Fetterhoff received the Choir Council award and Bethany Miller received the choir award. Colby Hawk and Bianca Overbeck received the AP music theory awards and Fisher received the AP music theory composition award. Overbeck also received the Niclous Leist Most Outstanding Band Student award.

The mass communications and publication department recognized Maria McNally and Destinee Monighan as the photojournalism contest winners. Alexis Hill and Hailey Mitchell received the journalism awards and Lindsey Noel received the yearbook production award.

The English department gave the writing award to William Ward and the English award to Ashlynn Henry. Amber Doze received the French award and Emily Scott received the Spanish award.

The industrial technology department gave away three awards. Thomas Mills received the woodworking award, Dylan Heu received the robotics award and Jeston Dewrock won the drafting award.

J Todd received the theater award and Ellie Foote received the speech award. Hunter Large and Emma VanDeVen were awarded the science department’s honors.

The social studies department closed the ceremony with four awards. Brock McCullough won the political science award; Faith Littleton received the history award; Jane Heisserer won the social sciences award and Collin Simmons received the citizenship award.

Mikala Liley and Will Ward were also honored for their work as student body president and vice president, respectively.

The Cash-Book Journal       P.O.Box 369       210 W. Main        Jackson, MO 63755       Phone: 573-243-3515       Fax: 573-243-3517